Jump to navigation
You will need to present your Social Security Card or acceptable proof of your Social Security number.
Proof of address and appropriate payment is also required. Your local driver license office can provide more information.
Ten-year documents (valid for a 10-year period) issued between 2001 and 2005 are not eligible to be renewed online or by mail due to updated state and federal requirements regarding photographs.
To determine eligibility for online renewal and documentation you will need to have when you renew your document at an office visit our renewal webpage.
The DMV can only accept a certified copy of a birth certificate filed with a State Office of Vital Statistics or equivalent agency in the applicant’s state of birth. City or borough issued birth certificates are not accepted with the exception of Washington, D.C. and the five boroughs of New York City. We are not able to accept laminated or wallet-sized birth certificates.
Please Note: All name changes must be on file with the Social Security Administration before visiting a driver license office. It takes at least 24 business hours for changes to be processed with Social Security.
NOTE TO CDL DRIVERS IN THE MILITARY: If you have a Colorado CDL license and are based out of the state or overseas, your license is automatically extended for up to 3 years per Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-118(2) as long as a military ID or military orders are presented with the license. Please do not request an extension, no sticker will be mailed to you.
If you are new to Colorado from another country, click here.
Individuals who cannot renew in an office can check their eligibility to extend their license online or submit a Request For Extension (DR2989). This will extend the license for one year or two years if the individual is outside of the country. A new license will not be issued as a result of an extension. Upon return to Colorado, the individual can return to an office to renew their document. Individuals also have the opportunity to explore options for obtaining an adult license in their current state of residence.
The Clarknet Administrative Clark Martin Glenn Of Engineering Hall L Web School Colorado law prohibits drivers under 18 years of age from using a cell phone while driving unless it is to contact the police or fire department or it is an emergency. Drivers 18 years and younger may not use a cell or mobile phone for text messaging while driving unless it is to contact the police or fire department or it is an emergency.
If adding the military identifier, you must choose between Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, National Guard or Navy. No additional fee is required to obtain the military identifier or veteran indicator. You may select the military identifier, veteran indicator or both to display on your license or ID card. The military identifier and veteran indicator do not extend to spouses or dependents.